Muse Image
Residency - writer at laptop


Ragdale Fellowships

The Ragdale Foundation receives funding for fellowships to underwrite the work of residents. These include eight endowed fellowships that are offered each year and are funded by related investment proceeds. Up to thirty additional annual fellowships may also be available—but only when underwritten by direct annual gifts. 

Ragdale recognizes the generous donors whose gifts support the following fellowships:

•    3ARTS Fellows
•    Alliance of Artists Communities’ Midwest Voices and Visions
•    Sylvia Clare Brown Fellow
•    Brown Fellowship for Musical Composition
•    Anne Vogt Fuller and Marion Titus Searle Fellowship
•    Hannah Judy Gretz Fellowship
•    Alice Judson Hayes Writing Fellowship*
•    The Prairie Fellowship
•    Frances Shaw Fellowship
•    Susan Tillett Fellowship
•    Strnad Invitational

*The Alice Hayes Writing Fellowship is the only fellowship available for direct application. The others are granted either by invitation or through a nomination process.

The Alice Hayes Writing Fellowship

An 18-25 day residency and a $500 stipend for a writer who is working on a project designed to bring awareness to a contemporary issue having to do with peace, social justice, education or the environment.

Application deadline is May 15, 2014. Applications are submitted through the SlideRoom online portal for the Alice Hayes Fellowhip, a category separate from the regular application deadline. Notification is in July, with the residency taking place during the following calendar year.

If you have questions about any of the fellowship opportunities, please contact Regin Igloria, Director of Artists-in-Residence at 847-234-1063 x. 26.